Sew to begin

What is a new sewing blog without a good pun to kick it off…?

I’m by no way new to blogging or social media, but I’m a total noob to this corner of the internet, and especially sewing — so I’ve been buzzed to discover the many fun things the online stitching community has to offer.

I wondered how I could participate and I very quickly realised that in this day and age I should just jump in and start my own blog, vlog, instagram account, the full monty… and get stuck in! I’m loving how the community comes together on the ‘nets, and I feel like this will be the best way to hang out with you lot, so I’m keen and ready.

wp-1485200817982.jpg

I’m so new to sewing, and in any case it’s such a broad topic, that it’s hard to say what the focus of this blog will be. For now my main obsession seems to be dressmaking, fitting and flat pattern drafting (for my own personal use), so expect a lot of that kind of stuff! Just as I’m starting out, I’ve been finding myself less into commercial (or even indie) patterns for now, but depending on how many hard fails I’ll hit over the next couple of months drafting my own makes, you might also see me turn in that direction very quickly!

I suppose with January almost running out, I might be just a teeny bit late to post many of the “traditional” new year’s sewist’s topics… However, I might still do a quick recap tomorrow on what I’ve sewn since I began, and a quick #makenine or 2017 sewing plans to kick this baby off in style.

So here’s to a happy sewy 2017, and see yous around soon!

Leave a Reply

